Huge List of Accidentally Vegan Foods

Oreos are vegan
Accidentally vegan foods

If having to renounce your favorite junk food is holding you back from eating vegan food, you don’t have to worry, there are plenty of options available.

Most people associate eating vegan food as the ultimate healthy diet. And, while that is true, there are still many junk foods that are vegan that health-conscious dieters should probably stay away from.

To find out more about the health benefits of veganism, read: Is a Vegan Diet Healthy?

Some crisps are vegan
Some crisps are accidentally vegan

But, what happens when you find yourself stranded at a gas station in the middle of nowhere? Or you have an odd craving for comfort junk food at the end of a long day? Are there vegan options that you can turn to that might be vegan by accident?

Accidental vegan food – is there such a thing?

Yes, there are. These products are not vegan by design, meaning they won’t be labeled as “vegan.” Still, they do not contain any animal products or industry byproducts. This makes them accidentally suitable for vegans to consume. Here we list some of our favorite finds, guaranteed to be found at your local grocery store – let’s get snacking!


Oreos are the ultimate accidental vegan product. Incredibly popular, found everywhere, and absolutely delicious – no wonder it’s the number one snack vegans boast about when talking to their non-vegan friends! There are as many Oreo flavors as there are stars in the sky, and all of them are suitable for vegans.

Smucker’s Uncrustables

These lunchbox favorites are found in the frozen section. They make a great snack when in a hurry – just pop it in your bag and let it thaw! Most varieties of Uncrustables are suitable for vegans, but remember to always check the label to make sure.

Lay’s Potato Chips

Turns out that many potato chips brands have products suitable for a vegan diet. Lay’s Classic, Lightly Salted, Deli Style, Pickled Dill, and Wavy varieties make for the perfect snack for comfort-craving vegans.


Another chip-style product that is perfect for sharing. Fritos Original and BBQ flavors are free from animal products.


Ritz crackers (in their original flavor) are absolutely delicious on their own, but they can also become the perfect dipping crackers when paired with hummus or guacamole!

Hershey’s Syrup

Oddly enough, while Hershey’s chocolate bars are laden with dairy and dairy byproducts, their chocolate syrup is not. Squeeze it on top of your morning pancakes for the ultimate treat!


Don’t be so quick to pick the Cool Ranch up – almost all Doritos contain whey. Still, the tasty Spicy Sweet Chili variety is free from animal products. Feel free to empty the bag in your party bowl next time your friends come over to hand out!

Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars

Sneaky dairy products and honey can be found in almost all granola bars, with the exception of Nature Valley’s Peanut Butter bar. Make this your snack bar of choice for a cruelty-free afternoon pick-me-up!

Cinnamon Life

Most commercial cereals, even the ones free from chocolate, contain animal byproducts such as lanolin. Quaker’s Cinnamon life is the exception to the rule, and it’s even tastier than your Cinnamon Toast Crunch!


Pringles are one of the few potato chip brands that clearly label their products as suitable for vegans and vegetarians. Their Original variety is, unfortunately, the only flavor suitable for a vegan diet, but it’ll do the trick just fine!

Pillsbury Crescents

Ready-made croissants for the ultimate lazy vegan – what more do you need?

Kellogg’s Mini-Wheats

Only the unfrosted variety of Kellogg’s Mini-Wheats are free from animal products. This is an ideal breakfast cereal option if you’re not a fan of sugar-loading first thing in the morning.

Kettle Potato Chips

Crisped up to perfection, quite a few varieties of Kettle Potato Chips are cruelty-free without skimping on the flavor. Barbecue, Jalapeño, Maple Bacon, Pepperoncini, Red Curry, Roasted Garlic, Sea Salt, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper, Spicy Thai, and Sriracha are all suitable for vegans. The variety alone makes Kettle our favorite potato chip brand!

Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

Everyone’s favorite toaster pastry can be cruelty-free, as long as you pick the right flavors. Unfrosted strawberry, blueberry, and brown sugar will be your go-to varieties.


The fieriest flavors of Takis are suitable for vegans: Takis Fuego and Takis Nitro. You don’t want to miss out on these tasty treats – if you can handle the heat that is.

Aunt Jemima Pancake/Waffle Mix

No matter how enthusiastic, we can all feel a bit lazy sometimes when it comes to making pancakes or waffles. Are you used to reaching out for a ready-made mix when the cravings hit? You don’t have to change a thing but swapping dairy milk for your choice of plant-based milk alternative – Aunt Jemima gets the vegan stamp of approval.

Luigi’s Real Italian Ice

Vegan ice cream has become readily available, with the frozen desserts giant Ben & Jerry’s leading the way. Still, you can indulge in your favorite late-night snack without the high price point when choosing fruit-based ice cream varieties like Luigi’s Real Italian Ice.

Ruffles Potato Chips

The last potato chip brand we recommend for vegans to try out is Ruffles. The Original, All Dressed, and Tapatio Limon varieties are free from animal products – everything else will, unfortunately, contain dairy byproducts.

Ore-Ida Tater Tots

The brand’s tater tots, as well as their fries, are suitable for vegans, making them a great snack choice for when the munchies hit. On that note, you’ll find that quite a few French fries (generally the original, unseasoned variety) don’t contain animal products. Just browse the frozen section, pick up a bag, and check the label to confirm!

A whole load of candy!

Swedish Fish, Twizzlers, Airheads, Cracker Jacks, and many more types of candy are actually free from animal products. Even though quite a few brands are known to use gelatin and bug-derived ingredients for coating, many others decide to keep insects away from their candy production.

Have a look at The Definitive List of Vegan Candy for more candy options.

 As you can see, there are plenty of options available. However, as with most foods, if you are unsure read the ingredients label. Also, keep an eye out for chocolates that could be vegan. Find out more in Is Chocolate Vegan?

Read more about vegan food in: What Can Vegans Eat?